Rare and selected Kavalan Single Malt Whisky from Taiwan

The Taiwanese Kavalan Distillery is located in the northern part of the east coast of Taiwan, about 80 km southeast of Taipei Yilan County, a small coastal plain at the mouth of the river Lanyang. The Taiwanese aborigines are called Kavalanen, hence the name Kavalan Whisky derives. 2005 fulfilled T.T. Lee, founder and president of the Taiwanese food company King Car Group, his greatest wish: an own whisky distillery. An avid whisky he dreamed already long from the idea to produce a high-quality whisky for Taiwan.
But only with the WTO accession of Taiwan in 2002 and the dissolution of the state monopoly on spirits advanced this idea in the realm of possibility. For agents Punk this project the chemist Ian Chang, who finished in Scotland his training as a master blender with flying colors was. The most important advisors build the distillery and production adaptation to climatic conditions was the British chemist and whiskey expert Dr. Jim Swan, which helps the company active until today. In April 2005 we started with the construction of King Car Kavalan Distillery and already on 11 March 2006 saw the first New Make the light of day. High humidity and temperatures of 15 ° C above the Scottish average annual set the team challenges. It soon became clear that storage times of 12 years or more in Taiwan would not be possible. With Angels Share of 15-18% per year Kavalan is well above the Scottish and Irish share of 2-3%. For the whisky production only spring water from the region is used. The special case is the soft and sweet taste of the water, which contributes ultimately to the fruity character of the whisky.
For the maturation of Kavalan whisky exclusively high quality oak casks from Europe and the United States are used. The barrels are stored mostly standing. The biggest reason is to secure the barrels against earthquakes, which occur frequently in Taiwan. The Pot Still 4 stills (each 2 wash stills and 2 spirit stills) are from Scotland. Both the distillery and its whiskys have won numerous international awards in recent years and become established in a variety of blind tastings against much older colleagues. Also in the whisky Bibble from whiskey expert Jim Murray of Kavalan whisky multiple grandiose ratings received.

Show 1 to 6 (from a total of 6 products)

Seltene und ausgewählte Kavalan Single Malt Whiskys aus Taiwan

Die taiwanesische Kavalan Destillerie befindet sich im Landkreis Yilan, einer kleinen Küstenebene im Mündungsgebiet des Flusses Lanyang im nördlichen Teil der Ostküste Taiwans, etwa 80 km südöstlich von Taipeh entfernt. Die taiwanesischen Ureinwohner werden als Kavalanen bezeichnet, daher leitet sich der Name Kavalan Whisky ab. 2005 erfüllte sich T.T. Lee, Gründer und Präsident des taiwanesischen Lebensmittelkonzerns King Car Group, seinen größten Wunsch: eine eigene Whisky-Destillerie. Als begeisterter Whisky-Liebhaber träumte er bereits lange von der Idee, einen hochwertigen Whisky für Taiwan zu produzieren.
Jedoch erst mit dem WTO-Beitritt Taiwans 2002 und dem Auflösen des Staatsmonopols für Branntwein rückte diese Idee in den Bereich des Möglichen. Zum Mittelpunk dieses Vorhabens wurde der Chemiker Ian Chang, der in Schottland seine Ausbildung zum Master Blender mit Bravur abschloss. Wichtigster Berater beim Aufbau der Brennerei und der Produktionsanpassung an die klimatischen Bedingungen war der britische Chemiker und Whisky-Experte Dr. Jim Swan, der das Unternehmen bis heute tatkräftig unterstützt. Im April 2005 wurde mit dem Bau der King Car Kavalan Destillerie begonnen und bereits am 11. März 2006 erblickte der erste New Make das Licht der Welt. Hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und Temperaturen von 15°C über dem schottischen Jahresdurchschnitt stellten das Team vor Herausforderungen. Schnell wurde klar, dass Lagerzeiten von 12 Jahren oder mehr in Taiwan nicht möglich sein würden. Mit einem Angels Share von 15-18% pro Jahr liegt Kavalan weit über dem schottischen und irischen Anteil von 2-3%. Für die Whiskyherstellung wird nur Quellwasser aus der Region verwendet. Das besondere hierbei ist der weiche und süßliche Geschmack des Wasser, welches letztendlich zu dem fruchtigen Charakter des Whiskys beiträgt.
Für die Reifung des Kavalan Whiskies werden ausschließlich hochwertige Eichenfässer aus Europa und den USA verwendet. Die Fässer werden überwiegend stehend gelagert. Der wichtigste Grund dafür ist die Sicherung der Fässer gegen Erdbeben, die auf Taiwan häufiger vorkommen. Die 4 Pot Still Brennblasen (je 2 Wash Stills und 2 Spirit Stills) stammen aus Schottland. Sowohl die Brennerei als auch ihre Whiskies haben in den vergangenen Jahren zahlreiche internationale Prämierungen gewonnen und sich in den unterschiedlichsten Blind Tastings gegen weitaus ältere Kollegen durchgesetzt. Auch in der Whisky Bibble vom Whiskyexperten Jim Murray hat der Kavalan Whisky mehrfach grandiose Bewertungen erhalten.

Zeige 1 bis 6 (von insgesamt 6 Artikeln)